Emil Schult x Sophia Schneider-Esleben

PHOTO-2021-07-28-10-41-11.jpg
IMG_8893.JPG

To say goodbye to my uncle, Florian Schneider, co-founder and electrical pioneer of the band Kraftwerk, in 2020 I met the artist, Emil Schult, "the eye of Kraftwerk."

 

He is a long-time friend of the family, so we reminisced about our times together and forged new plans. As a gift he brought his book "Fluxus to Future" with him, 2 kilos of art history by Emil Schult.

 

 

As a vegetarian and a friend of beautiful fashion, he immediately supported my sustainable concept of reviving my grandfather's watercolors as a tribute and printing them on organic cotton with drinkable organic colors, PETA vegan approved. He spontaneously offered me to choose one of his art works and add it to my collection.

 

Since the band Kraftwerk will celebrate their 50th anniversary in 2020, as well as with the Vinyl Trans Europe Express, it makes sense to dedicate the LP cover with the TEE train as a logo designed by Emil as a homage to Florian with my new collection.

 

This is how our cooperation came about.

 

I decided on two graphic variants that I implemented for the fabric print;

"TEE big" in the style of the 20s, very straightforward, broken with big curves, which envelops the whole body as a total print.

The counterpart "TEE Karo", Emil's wish, were trains going back and forth, which I graphically interpreted in a clear and classic checked pattern.

 

Both prints can be combined in many ways and are stylish even with one another.

 

The colors are not only adapted from the record cover, the chocolatey dark tone is the trend color in winter 2021/22 and a bitter-sweet consolation for the death of my uncle Florian.

 

The collection consists of casual unisex items such as t-shirts, joggers and shirts, mixed with casual-business approved items such as dresses, blouses, skirts and elegant PJ pans, each with an elastic band, suitable for home office, physical meetings, going out or couch surfing.

 

 

About Emil Schult

Emil Schult (* 1946) is a painter, poet and audiovisual artist whose work ranges from drawings and texts in the spirit of Fluxus to texts and record covers that shape pop history to reverse glass paintings that reflect human existence.

 

During his studies at the Düsseldorf Art Academy, his teachers Dieter Roth, Joseph Beuys and Gerhard Richter supported Schult's poetic approach to art. In 1972 Emil Schult began his artistic collaboration with the Kraftwerk founders Ralf Hütter and Florian Schneider. As artist friends, they created the music comic for the album “Ralf and Florian” and artwork for “Autobahn”, “Radioactivity” and other graphics.

 

In the next few years of their collaboration, they also wrote texts and phonetic poetry for 'Autobahn', 'Radioactivity', 'The Model', 'Pocket Calculator', 'Computer World' et al.

In 1979 Schult deepened his studies in computer music at the Stanford Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Stanford University, CA, USA.

 

Schult has been working with video and computer-animated images since the mid-1980s and has taken up the old Chinese technique of painting behind glass. Schult's focus is on the visionary potential of art, and his most recent paintings reflect the connection between humans, the electronic microcosm and the vastness of space.

 

Emil Schult has recently shown solo exhibitions at the Osthaus Museum Hagen, DE; Burchfield Penny Art Center, Buffalo, NY, USA; Rauschenberg Gallery at Florida South Western State College, Fort Myers, FL, USA; Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum, Paderborn, DE; Institute for Electronic Art at Alfred University, NY, USA; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA.

 

He was visiting professor at the Institute for Electronic Arts at Alfred University NY, USA.

 

 

His recent participations in group exhibitions include Deichtorhallen, Hamburg, DE; House of World Cultures, Berlin; DE, Buchholz Gallery New York, USA; Zhang Zhou International Contemporary Art Exhibition, CHN; Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, DE; Hombroich rocket station, Neuss, DE; Tampa Art Museum, FL, USA; Julia Stoschek Foundation, Düsseldorf, DE; et al.

 

 

Schult has been working with Emma Nilsson as TRANSHUMAN ART CRITICS since 2017. In 2019 Lothar Manteuffel and Max Dax joined the audiovisual project. TRANSHUMAN ART CRITICS consider the development of electronic music and art from the perception of improved people.

 

 

The observations are presented as audio-visual pieces in which the archaeological finds merge with the knowledge of the future.

Emil Schult x Sophia Schneider-Esleben

PHOTO-2021-07-28-10-41-11.jpg
IMG_8893.JPG

Zum Abschied meines Onkels, Florian Schneider, Mitbegründer und ElektroPionier der Band Kraftwerk, begegnete ich  2020 dem Künstler, Emil Schult, „dem Auge von Kraftwerk.“

 

Er ist ein langjähriger Freund der Familie, so schwelgten wir in schönen Erinnerungen gemeinsamer Zeiten und schmiedeten neue Pläne. Als Gastgeschenk brachte er sein Buch "Fluxus to Future" mit, 2 Kilo Kunstgeschichte von Emil Schult. 

 

 

Als Vegetarier und Freund der schönen Mode, unterstützte er sofort mein nachhaltiges Konzept, die Aquarelle meines Großvaters als Hommage aufleben zu lassen und auf BioBaumwolle, mit trinkbaren BioFarben zu bedrucken, PETA vegan approved. Spontan bot er mir an, eines seiner Kunstwerke auszuwählen und dies in meine Kollektion mit aufzunehmen.

 

Da 2020 die Band Kraftwerk ihr 50 jähriges Jubiläum feiert, wie auch mit der Vinyl Trans Europe Express, liegt es nahe, das LPcover mit dem TEE Zug als Logo von Emil entworfen, als Hommage Florian zu widmen mit meiner neuen Kollektion.

 

So entstand unsere Kooperation.

 

Ich habe mich für zwei Grafikvarianten entschieden, die ich für den Stoffprint umgesetzt habe;

"TEE big“ im Stil der 20er Jahre, sehr geradlinig, gebrochen mit großen Schwüngen, der den ganzen Körper als Totalprint umhüllt. 

Als Pendant „TEE Karo“, Emil's Wunsch, waren hin- und herfahrende Züge, die ich in ein klares und klassisches Karomuster, grafisch interpretiert habe.

 

Beide Prints sind vielseitig kombinierbar und stylish sogar untereinander.

 

Die Farben sind nicht nur vom Plattencover adaptiert, der schokoladige ZartbitterTon ist Trendfarbe im Winter 2021/22 und ein bittersüßer Trost zum Tode meines Onkels Florian.

 

Die Kollektion besteht aus legeren UnisexTeilen wie T-Shirts, Joggern und Hemden, gemixt mit casual-business approved Teilen wie Kleider, Blusen, Röcken und eleganten PJ Pans, jeweils mit Gummizug, geeignet für Homeoffice, physische Meetings, zum Ausgehen oder Couchsurfen. 

 

 

Über Emil Schult

Emil Schult (*1946) ist Maler, Dichter und audiovisueller Künstler, dessen Werk von Zeichnungen und Texten im Geiste des Fluxus über Texte und Plattencover, die die Popgeschichte prägen, bis hin zu Hinterglasmalereien, die das menschliche Dasein reflektieren, reicht. 

 

Während seines Studiums an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf unterstützten seine Lehrer Dieter Roth, Joseph Beuys und Gerhard Richter Schults poetischen Zugang zur Kunst. 1972 begann Emil Schult seine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit den Kraftwerk-Gründern Ralf Hütter und Florian Schneider. Als Künstlerfreunde schufen sie den Musikcomic für das Album „Ralf und Florian“ und Artworks für „Autobahn“, „Radioactivity“ und weitere Grafiken.

 

In den nächsten Jahren ihrer Zusammenarbeit schrieben sie auch Texte und Lautpoesie für ‚Autobahn‘, ‚Radioactivity‘, ‚The Model‘, ‚Pocket Calculator‘, ‚Computer World‘ et al.

1979 vertiefte Schult sein Studium der Computermusik am Stanford Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Stanford University, CA, USA. 

 

Seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre arbeitet Schult mit video- und computeranimierten Bildern und greift die alte chinesische Technik der Hinterglasmalerei auf. Schults Fokus liegt auf dem visionären Potenzial der Kunst, und seine jüngsten Gemälde reflektieren die Verbindung zwischen dem Menschen, dem elektronischen Mikrokosmos und der Weite des Raums. 

 

Emil Schult hat zuletzt Einzelausstellungen im Osthaus Museum Hagen, DE gezeigt; Burchfield Penny Art Center, Buffalo, NY, USA; Rauschenberg Gallery am Florida South Western State College, Fort Myers, FL, USA; Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum, Paderborn, DE; Institut für Elektronische Kunst an der Alfred University, NY, USA; Universität von Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA. 

 

Er war Gastprofessor am Institute for Electronic Arts der Alfred University NY, USA. 

 

 

Zu seinen jüngsten Beteiligungen an Gruppenausstellungen zählen Deichtorhallen, Hamburg, DE; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; DE, Galerie Buchholz New York, USA; Zhang Zhou Internationale Ausstellung für zeitgenössische Kunst, CHN; Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, DE; Raketenstation Hombroich, Neuss, DE; Tampa-Kunstmuseum, FL, USA; Julia Stoschek Stiftung, Düsseldorf, DE; et al. 

 

 

Seit 2017 arbeitet Schult mit Emma Nilsson als TRANSHUMAN ART CRITICS zusammen. 2019 traten Lothar Manteuffel und Max Dax dem audiovisuellen Projekt bei. TRANSHUMAN ART CRITICS betrachten die Entwicklung elektronischer Musik und Kunst aus der Wahrnehmung verbesserter Menschen. 

 

 

Die Beobachtungen werden als audio-visuelle Stücke präsentiert, in denen die archäologischen Funde mit der Erkenntnis der Zukunft verschmelzen.