SSE_SS21_155.jpg
Sophia Schneider-Esleben - SSE: Slow Smart Eco

As a fashion designer, tailor and cutting director, I experiment with textile design and prints for my vegan label "Sophia Schneider-Esleben - SSE - Slow Smart Eco".

In my collections I combine fashion, art and sustainability.
I implement this in cooperation with artists like Emil Schult, the "eye of Kraftwerk", pioneers of electronic music, whose co-founder is my uncle, Florian Schneider.
In addition, I use watercolors from my grandfather, the architect Paul Schneider-Esleben, PSE, friend and companion of Walter Gropius, Mies van der Rohe and Le Corbusier, by having them digitized and printed for my collections as an homage to PSE.

 

Slow fashion: The organic cotton is woven, knitted and printed according to my designs in Chemnitz with drinkable organic colors without using water. All components such as fabrics, threads, buttons, zippers and labels are organic: single-origin, vegan and GOTS certified, made in Germany. Production in Lithuania, by 100% women power. My collection is compostable because I don't use synthetics. A piece of clothing of mine only travels 3,500 km from the cotton field in Turkey to my customers, instead of 65,000 km as in conventional fashion, so I already reduce CO2 emissions during transport, due to my regional production in the EU, with no air freight . I work according to the C2C principle; Larger offcuts that arise during production are upcycled into accessories, while smaller scraps in Berlin are recycled into new yarns / fabrics. My production is transparent because my QR code is sewn into my articles. Customers land on my website www.schneider-esleben.com/ who-made-my-clothes, where all information is described in detail: material, certification, production facility, washing instructions. I work with green electricity in my studio. I use recycled paper for my packaging and use parcels several times.

 

Smart fashion: My fashion language consists of design, craftsmanship and ecology, clever cuts in a puristic form, casual and business approved, nonseasonal, ageless and unisex. EcoFashion is the 2nd skin, can be smart, affordable & Made-in-EU!

 

Eco fashion: The share of the world market for sustainable fashion is 2% and that of organic cotton is only 1%, I want to change that. Since 2015 I'm the "Fashion Revolution" ambassador in Kassel and give lectures at universities, schools and trade fairs about the grievances of the fashion industry as the third largest polluter including the Rana Plaza collapse in 2012, in which 1,200 exploited sewers died in Kassel in cooperation with Greenpeace initiated with the city's local lighthouses in order to jointly network and promote the fashion locations where sustainable and fair fashion can be promoted and bought.

 

"Consume small but nice, take responsibility for what you wear!"

SSE_SS21_155.jpg
Sophia Schneider-Esleben  -  SSE: Slow Smart Eco
 

Als Modedesignerin, Schneiderin und Schnittdirektrice experimentiere ich mit Textildesign und Prints für mein veganes Label „Sophia Schneider-Esleben - SSE - Slow Smart Eco“.

In meinen Kollektionen verbinde ich Mode, Kunst und Nachhaltigkeit.
Dies implementiere ich in Kooperation mit Künstlern wie Emil Schult, dem "Auge von Kraftwerk“, Pioniere der Elektronischen Musik, deren CoFounder mein Onkel, Florian Schneider, ist.
Hinzu verwende ich Aquarelle meines Großvaters, dem Architekten Paul Schneider-Esleben, PSE, Freund und Wegbegleiter von Walter Gropius, Mies van der Rohe und Le Corbusier, indem ich sie als Hommage an PSE für meine Kollektionen digitalisieren und drucken lasse.


 

Slow Fashion: Die Biobaumwolle wird in Chemnitz gewebt, gestrickt und nach meinen Entwürfen bedruckt ohne Wasserverbrauch mit trinkbaren Biofarben. Alle Komponenten wie Stoffe, Garne, Knöpfe, Reißverschlüsse und Etiketten sind biologisch: sortenrein, vegan und GOTS zertifiziert, made in Germany. Genäht wird in Litauen, bei 100% Womenpower. Meine Kollektion ist kompostierbar, da ich auf Synthetics verzichte. Ein Kleidungsstück von mir reist vom Baumwollfeld in der Türkei bis zu meinen Kunden nur 3.500 km, anstatt 65.000 km wie in der konventionelle Mode, so reduziere ich bereits die CO2-Emissionen beim Transport, aufgrund meiner regionalen Produktion in der EU, mit Verzicht auf Luftfracht. Ich arbeite nach dem C2C Prinzip; Größere Verschnitte, die bei der Produktion entstehen, werden zu Accessoires upgecycelt, kleinere Reste in Berlin zu neuen Garnen/Stoffen recycelt. Meine Produktion ist transparent, da mein QR-Code in meine Artikel eingenäht ist. Kunden landen auf meiner Website www.schneider-esleben.com/ who-made-my-clothes, wo alle Angaben detailliert beschrieben sind: Material, Zertifizierung, Produktionsstätte, Waschanleitung. In meinem Atelier arbeite ich mit Ökostrom. Für meine Verpackungen verwende ich Recyclingpapier und nutze Pakete mehrfach.

 

Smart Fashion: Meine Modesprache besteht aus Design, Handwerk und Ökologie, clevere Schnitte in puristischer Form, casual und business approved, nonseasonal, ageless und unisex. EcoFashion ist die 2.Haut, kann smart & Made-in-Germany sein!

 

Eco Fashion: Der Anteil des Weltmarktes nachhaltiger Mode beträgt 2% und die der Biobaumwolle beträgt nur 1%, dies will ich verändern.Seit 2015 bin ich „Fashion Revolution" Ambassadorin in Kassel und referiere auf Unis, Schulen und Messen über die Missstände der Modeindustrie als drittgrößter Umweltverschmutzer samt Rana Plaza Einsturz in 2012, in dem 1.200 ausgebeutete Näher*Innen starben.So habe ich in 2019 den FashionRevolutionWalk in Kassel in Kooperation mit Greenpeace initiiert mit den lokalen Leuchttürmen der Stadt, um gemeinsam die Modeorte zu vernetzen und zu promoten, in denen man nachhaltige und faire Mode fördern und kaufen kann.

„Konsumiere klein aber fein, trage Verantwortung für das, was Du trägst!"

Awards & Nominations
  • 2019      Nominierung Lucky Stricke Award, Kategorie "Textil und Mode"
  • 2018.19 Auszeichnung zur Nachwuchs-Designerin für Nachhaltigkeit
  • 2018      Nominierung German Design Award, Kategorie "German Brand Award"
  • 2017.18 Winner DA`C Word Leading Designers, Kategorie "Best Fashion"
  • 2017      Winner A`Design Award, Silber, Kategorie "Best Fashion"
  • 2017      Nominierung Little London Award, Kategorie "Best Fashion Brand"